Confidence

Published December 7, 2015 by Smalltownbarbie

I’m afraid.
Afraid of falling on my face.
Afraid of standing tall and making my voice heard.
Afraid of giving my all, putting it all in.
‘Cause what if I fall and get hurt.
I can’t stand that tall, ’cause what I stand on is not all that strong.
Where does this fear come from?
Who took my courage from me?
I don’t know, I don’t know…
What scared me into silence.
But I’m afraid.
Afraid of being great.
Afraid of standing out.
See not many people know what I’m all about.
I’ve always given them what they wanted to see.
So much so, that it’s terrifying just being me.
Where does this fear come from?
Who took my courage from me?
I don’t know, I don’t know…
What scared me into hiding.
But I’m afraid.
Afraid of how much I love.
Afraid that they might not love me.
Afraid of a broken heart.
But how can that be, if no ones broken by heart before.
What am I holding my breath for?
Where does this fear come from?
Who took my courage from me?
I don’t know, I don’t know…
What scared me into these walls.
We live in an age of fearlessness
Be bold! Stand tall! Speak your truth!
Everyone says it.
Yet I’m afraid.
But I know, I know…
This fear comes from a lack of me.
A lack of understanding what I can be.
A little mistrust and disbelieve.
A lack of self can be the biggest thieve.
And my courage, I found inside of me.
In everything I aim to be.
Fear just likes to hide it from me.
But every single time I’m afraid.
There it is, centre stage.
And as I learn myself from scratch.
Embrace and love the original me. It might take years, it might take a lifetime.
But I’ll no longer fear me.
I’m afraid but I’m not fearful.
I’m courageous.

Leave a Reply

